Food · Recipes

A Big’ol pot of SOUP

Sometimes I get sick and CRAVE soup (like now, have a cold 😦 ). This is a short post on how i make my vegetable soup. It’s quite a big pot of soup so I put portions in those sandwhich resealable bags and put it in the freezer. It’s great for me, as I NEVER have time to cook! This took around 30mins and was very cheap, cost around $10 for everything I used!

Ingredients:

  • 1kg bag of frozen mixed vegetables
  • Vegetable stock (I used 2 cubes mixed in 4 cups of water)
  • Chilli flakes (optional)
  • Black pepper
  • All purpose seasoning 
  • 1/4 cabbage
  • 1 whole leek
  • 2 large onions
  • 1 BIG pot to cook it in
  • 3 tsp vegetable oil (any oil will do)
  • 3 cups of water 
Did not use the mushrooms or garlic

    Method:

    1. Cut up onions to your desired size (I cut mine up bigger, as I like onion, and I wanted to sautè it first)
    2. Cut the leek – cut off green leaves, we only use the whitish/ white part. Peel off the most outer layer of leek and wash the leek to get any sand off (I cut my leek vertically, so I can see the layers and clean it a bit more easily for me). Then cut it up to desired size. 
    3. Cut cabbage roughly (makes quite a mess!). 
    4. Put the pot on the stove and heat it up. Once heated put 3tsp of oil and wait till heats up and lower the heat.
    5. Put the onions in pot first and sautè. Once soft and a bit golden, put in the cut up leek and cook it till it’s really soft. 
    6. Put in vegetable stock once onions and leek are soft and golden. Turn up the heat!
    7. let it simmer, add the water, 1 cup at a time (remember to taste!)
    8. Add in rest of vegetables
    9. Season with pepper, chilli, all purpose seasoning. I purposefully (is that a word??) didn’t write measurements because it’s really up to you while you taste! 
    10. Let it cook on medium heat. Once you have desired softness of the vegetables turn off the stove and you’re done! 
      Finished soup nomnom!

      Had food to bring to work 🙂

    I made mine quite spicy, and I eat it with a side of bread and salami! nomnom O_O

    Please like and follow if you like what you see! 😄

    Leave a Reply

    